Dead Confederates, A Civil War Era Blog

The Civil War Monitor

Posted in Memory by Andy Hall on September 21, 2011


As many of you already know, Terry Johnston’s new magazine — that’s him on the right, I believe — The Civil War Monitor, hits the stands next week. The online version went live Wednesday afternoon, and is available here. It promises to be a great endeavor. I love Terry’s guiding principle for the magazine, that it would be “devoted to the belief that popular history need not be superficial or sentimental.” Damn straight.

I’m both pleased and humbled also to announce that I’ll be blogging at The Front Line, the new magazine’s group blog. It’s a great honor for me to be asked to join other bloggers there whose work I’ve admired for a long time, including Keith Harris, Jim Schmidt, Harry Smeltzer, Robert Moore and Craig Swain. I would also like to thank the Monitor‘s Blog and Social Media Editor, Laura June Davis, who’s been working steadily behind the scenes to make all the electrons go in the right places.

In many respects, I anticipate that my blogging at The Civil War Monitor will be similar to my blogging here. The postings here at Dead Confederates may thin out a bit, but I hope that this new publication will prove to be as exciting and successful as it looks to be.
______________

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brainz said, on September 22, 2011 at 7:43 am

    Congratulations! The new magazine looks interesting.

  2. Terry Johnston said, on September 22, 2011 at 10:24 am

    Andy:

    Thrilled to have you on board! Thanks for the kind words. And while there are no guarantees (in life or in publishing), we’re excited about the venture and our chances.

    Terry

    P.S. Digital version of the premier edition goes live on the website Friday 9/23. Free for all who want to see it.

    P.P.S. Think I’m second from left in the photo. Been a while since that one was taken.

  3. corkingiron said, on September 22, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    OK – I subscribed. Damn carpetbaggers chargin’ extra for Canadian Mail…..

    Will there be a place where I can be disputatious, disingenuous and generally codgerish?

    Seriously – I am looking forward to it. All the best in this venture.

    • Andy Hall said, on September 22, 2011 at 10:10 pm

      Thanks for doing this. It really is unlike the others out there I’m familiar with, much wider in scope.

  4. Lyle Smith said, on September 23, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    That’s a good first article Andy.

  5. Foxessa said, on September 27, 2011 at 11:57 am

    Very cool! Congratulations to the publication for having such high quality bloggers as yourself.


Leave a comment